2011 Washington girls lacrosse All-State teams named

2011 Washington girls lacrosse All-State teams named

Coach-of-the-Year, Team Sportsmanship, Team Scholastic Achievement Awards

SEATTLE –The Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association today announced the 2011 All-State teams for Girls Division I and II high school lacrosse. The All-State selections are made by coaches from each of the league’s Division I and II programs in eastern and western Washington.

Sixty-four students-athletes from 31 schools were among the first and second team honorees. Schools represented by multiple student-athletes include Bainbridge High School (6), Lakeside School (5), Ballard High School (4), Mercer Island High School (4), Overlake School (4), Glacier Peak High School (3), Skyline High School (3), Snohomish High School (3), Eastside Catholic School (2), Central Kitsap High School (3), Interlake High School (3), Garfield High School (2), Kamiak High School (2), Roosevelt High School (2), Redmond High School (2).

The following schools all were each represented by one student-athlete; Archbishop Murphy High School, Bellevue High School, Curtis High School, Eastlake High School, Evergreen Junior High School, Forest Ridge School, International School / Newport High School, Juanita High School, Kennedy Catholic High School, Kingston High School, Lake Stevens High School, Lake Washington High School, Sammamish High School, Seattle Preparatory Academy, Woodinville High School.

Third-year honorees include Sarah Clevenger (Roosevelt High School), Jaclyn Biggers (Bainbridge High School), Maddie Soukup (Ballard High School), Alex Foreman (Eastside Catholic School), Meaghan Hess (Lake Stevens High School).

Second-year honorees include Madeline Stevenson, Grace Deery-Schmitt and Kelsey Mackin (Bainbridge High School), Kelsey Barta and Jayne Barnes (Ballard High School), Conley Nemyre (Bellevue High School), Linnea Whisman (Garfield High School), Sierra Shaw (Kamiak High School), Claire Monsaas (Redmond High School), Kerri Smith (Overlake School), Kaya Reilly (Snohomish High School), Sophie Wolz (Sammamish High School), Mary Sessler (Seattle Preparatory Academy), Katie Mincin (Skyline High School).

In total, 28 seniors, 16 juniors, 15 sophomores and 5 freshmen were named to All-State teams.

The Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association also named Bailey Su and Tony D’Alessio of Lake Sammamish as Division I and II Coaches of the Year.

The Team Sportsmanship Awards were presented to Holy Names Academy (Division I) and Tahoma (Division II).

The Team Scholastic Achievement Award was awarded to Holy Names Academy in Seattle.

2011 Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association All-State Honors & Awards
(As selected by Division I and II coaches in eastern and western Washington)

Girls Division I First Team

Girls Division I Second Team

Girls Division II First Team

Girls Division II Second Team

About High School Lacrosse in Washington State
Lacrosse is the fastest growing sport in the US and in Washington state has experienced double-digit annual growth throughout the past decade. With a 33-year local history, more than 4,000 students attending over 100 WIAA schools now make up 154 individual boys and girls Varsity and JV teams across eastern and western Washington. Governed by the Washington High School Boys Lacrosse Association and the Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association, the sport is played during a nine-week spring season capped by annual boys and girls state championships in late May. To learn more about lacrosse in Washington or to receive daily high school results, visit USLAX-WA.org or become a fan on facebook. To learn more about the history, traditions and values of lacrosse, college opportunities available to students, and the 21 US states now sanctioning high school lacrosse, visit USLacrosse.org.

# # #

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email
%d bloggers like this: