2009 Washington boys lacrosse D1 All-State Team named

SEATTLE – The Washington High School Boys Lacrosse Association today announced the 2009 All-State Team for Boys Division I varsity lacrosse. The All-State selections are made by coaches from each of the league’s Division I programs in eastern and western Washington.

Among the 32 student-athletes selected to the first and second teams and who received Honorable Mention are six student-athletes from Issaquah High School, five each from Mercer Island and Bainbridge Island High Schools, three each from Bellevue and Curtis High Schools, and two each from Inglemoor and Skyline High Schools.

Curtis High School’s Landon Carr made his third appearance on the list, receiving First Team honors in 2009 and 2008 and Second Team honors in 2007.

Carr was among 10 student-athletes to be honored for the second consecutive year. The others include Bainbridge Island High School’s Sam Snow and Bryce Stevenson. Snow and Stevenson were each named to the Division I First Team for the second consecutive year. Issaquah’s Jake Director and Connor McClain along with Mercer Island’s Daniel Shields and Conner Beckwith also made the list for the second consecutive year. Both received Second Team honors in 2008.

Inglemoor’s Taylor and Foster Wisman, who play for Northshore, and Seattle Prep’s David Schoettler all earned Division II All-Region honors in 2008.

In total, 17 seniors, 12 juniors and three sophomores from 12 high schools in Washington state were named to the All-State teams.

About High School Lacrosse in Washington State
Lacrosse is the fastest growing sport in the U.S. and in Washington State the sport has seen double-digit growth in five of the last seven years. In 2009, over 2,370 high school students representing 75 boys and 49 girls varsity and junior varsity teams in Washington state will compete in a nine-week season March – May with the annual Washington State High School Championships taking place May 16 (girls) and May 30 (boys). Varsity boys lacrosse is contested in the Washington High School Boys Lacrosse Association (http://www.whsbla.org/) with 14 Division I and 28 Division II teams. Varsity girls lacrosse is contested in The Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association (http://www.wslax.org/) with 15 Division I and 16 Division II teams. Most of the teams represent high schools throughout the Puget Sound area.

For daily high school lacrosse results or to receive results through an RSS feed, please visit http://www.uslax-wa.org/media.html

2009 Washington High School Boys Lacrosse Association Division I All-State Honors
(As selected by Division I coaches in eastern and western Washington)

Boys Division I

First Team — G, Bryce Stevenson, Sr., Bainbridge Island; D, Dugan McDermot, Sr., Bainbridge Island; D, Connor McClain, Sr., Issaquah; D, Conner Beckwith, Jr., Mercer Island; D, Alex Candoo, Sr., Bellevue; M, Landon Carr, Sr., Curtis; M, Jake Director, Sr., Issaquah; M, Cole Nordstrom, Jr., Bellevue; M, Jordan Goldstein, Sr., Issaquah; A, Daniel Shields, Sr., Mercer Island; A, Sam Snow, Sr., Bainbridge; A, Kyle Mutzel, Sr., Bellevue.

Second Team — G, Hap Giraud, Jr., Mercer Island; D, Connor Raffety, Jr., Mercer Island; D, Austin Franks, Jr., Vashon Island; D, Danny Vais, Jr., Eastlake; D, Andrew Johnson, Sr., Skyline; M, Kevin Nguyen, Sr., Bainbridge Island; M, Taylor Wisman, Jr., Inglemoor(Northshore); M, Steve Caditz, Sr., Mercer Island; M, David Schoettler, Sr., Seattle Prep; M, Calvin Wiley, Sr., Skyline; A, Todd Jones; Jr., Issaquah; A, Taylor Dean, Jr., Curtis; A, Jake Fritz , So., Issaquah.

Honorable Mention — G, Zach Steedman, Jr., Rogers High School (Puyallup); D, Tyler Lucas, So., Issaquah; D, Devin Cavanaugh, Sr., Curtis; M, Hector Rhodes, Jr., Lakeside; M, Foster Wisman, So., Inglemoor (Northshore).

# # #

Media Contact:
Mike McQuaid
McQuaid & Co. Strategic Communications

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email
%d bloggers like this: