2009 Washington girls lacrosse All-State teams named

SEATTLE – The Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association today announced the 2009 All-State teams for Girls Division I and II varsity lacrosse. The All-State selections are made by coaches from each of the league’s Division I and II programs in eastern and western Washington.

Among the 48 student-athletes selected to the first and second teams are nine student-athletes from Bainbridge Island High School, seven from Mercer Island High School, five each from Roosevelt High School and the Lakeside School and two from Glacier Peak High School.

In Division I, three seniors earned First Team All-State honors for the third consecutive year. Third-year honorees include Jillian Chong of the Forest Ridge School, along with Sally Baumgartner and Rachel Harmon of Bainbridge Island High School.

Second-year honorees on the Division I First Team include Mariah Walk, a senior at Bainbridge Island High School, Madeline Grose and Olivia Hull, both seniors at Roosevelt, Victoria Maxon, a senior at the Holy Names Academy and Caroline Mahoney, a senior at Mercer Island High School. Jessika Carlstrom, a senior at Curtis High School, received Second Team honors. In 2008, she was named to the Division II First Team.

In Division II, Natalie Merrill, a junior at Kennedy High School, received First Team All-State honors for the third consecutive year.

In total, 21 seniors, 13 juniors, 12 sophomores and two freshmen from 22 high schools in Washington state were named to the All-State teams.

The Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association also named Roosevelt head coach Vinca Swanson as its Division I Coach of the Year and Auburn-Mountainview coach John Tomasi and Mercer Island coach Tony D’Alessio as co-recipients for Division II Coach of the Year honors.

Seattle Prep received the Team Scholastic Achievement Award, while the Team Sportsmanship Awards went to Roosevelt in Division I and Ballard in Division II. Seattle Prep and Kennedy were recognized as co-recipients of the JV Team Sportsmanship Award.

About High School Lacrosse in Washington State
Lacrosse is the fastest growing sport in the U.S. and in Washington State the sport has seen double-digit growth in five of the last seven years. In 2009, over 2,370 high school students representing 75 boys and 49 girls varsity and junior varsity teams in Washington state will compete in a nine-week season March – May with the annual Washington State High School Championships taking place May 16 (girls) and May 30 (boys). Varsity boys lacrosse is contested in the Washington High School Boys Lacrosse Association (http://www.whsbla.org/) with 14 Division I and 28 Division II teams. Varsity girls lacrosse is contested in The Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association (http://www.wslax.org/) with 15 Division I and 16 Division II teams. Most of the teams represent high schools throughout the Puget Sound area.

For daily high school lacrosse results or to receive results through an RSS feed, please visit http://www.uslax-wa.org/media.html

2009 Washington Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association All-State Honors & Awards

(As selected by Division I and II coaches in eastern and western Washington)

Girls Division I
First Team –
G, Sarah Adler, Sr., Lakeside; D, Rachel Harmon, Sr., Bainbridge; D, Alysshia van Houte, Sr., Bainbridge; D, Olivia Wold, Jr., Mercer Island; D, Ellen Zocher, Jr., Lakeside; M, Angie Anderson, Jr., Roosevelt; M, Sally Baumgartner, Sr., Bainbridge; M, Jillian Chong, Sr., Forest Ridge; M, Caroline Mahoney, Sr., Mercer Island; M, Victoria Maxon, Sr., Holy Names; M, Morgan Merriman, Sr., Lakeside; M, Mariah Walk, Sr., Bainbridge; A, Madeline Grose, Sr., Roosevelt; A, Olivia Hull, Sr., Roosevelt; A, Merielle Moffatt, Jr., Bellevue; A, Sarah Shea, Sr., Bainbridge.

Second Team – G, Josephine Wallace, Sr., Bainbridge; D, Sarah Clevenger, So., Roosevelt; D, Bailey Hagen, Sr., Holy Names; D, Catherine LaPlant , Jr., Mercer Island; D, Hannah Price, Sr., Snohomish; Jaclyn Biggers, So., Bainbridge Island; M, Jessika Carlstrom, Sr., Curtis; M, Mariko Carmichael, Sr., Nathan Hale; M, Eline Cove, Jr., Stadium (Tacoma); M, Kaitlin Fithian, Sr., Eastlake (Lake Sammamish); M, Ellen Hass, Jr., Mercer Island; M, Sylvia Warren,Jr., Lakeside; A, Hannah Bahn, Jr., Mercer Island; A, Alison Crabb, Sr., Roosevelet; A, Meaghan Hess, So., Lake Stevens (Snohomish); A, Lucy Williams, Sr., Lakeside.

Girls Division II
First Team – G, Teagan Cameron, Jr., Issaquah; D, Jahmie Day, So., Glacier Peak (Snohomish); D, Kristina King, So., Sammamish (Bellevue East); D, Molly Nemerever, So., Mercer Island; D, Kailey Strachan, Jr., Bainbridge Island; M, Loreal Camp, So., Mercer Island; M, Emily Dalrymple, So., Glacier Peak (Snohomish); M, Mallory Glebe, So., North Kitsap; M, Brittany Hogan, So., Skyline (Issaquah); M, Natalie Merril, Jr., Kennedy; M, Bea Sheffer, Fr., Bainbridge Island; M, Allie Willson, Jr., Tahoma; A, Alex Foreman, So., Eastside Catholic; A,Katie Mincin, So., Skyline (Issaquah); A, Maddie Soukup, So., Ballard; A, Sophie Wolz, Fr., Sammamish (Bellevue East).

Coach of the Year
Division I – Vinca Swanson, Roosevelt
Division II — John Tomasi, Auburn-Mountainview; Tony D’Alessio, Mercer Island

Team Scholastic Award
Seattle Prep

Team Sportsmanship Award
Division I — Roosevelt
Division II — Ballard
Junior Varsity — Seattle Prep; Kennedy

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email
%d bloggers like this: